Monday, January 15, 2007

Five advisors to CG sworn in

President Iajuddin Ahmed yesterday appointed five advisers to the reconstituted non-party caretaker government (CG).The advisers are Barrister Mainul Hosein, Major Gen (retd) MA Matin, Geeti Ara Safiya Chowdhury, Dr Mirza Azizul Islam and Tapan Chowdhury. The president administered the oath of the advisers at a ceremony at the Bangabhaban The first meeting of the seemingly half-reconstituted council of advisers will be held today at 11:30am at the Chief Adviser’s office at Tejgaon.

President Iajuddin Ahmed stepped down from the chief adviser's post on January 11 and all his advisers resigned, in a changed political situation following the promulgation of a state of emergency in the country amid political squabbles over polls. President Iajuddin Ahmed took over the charge of CA to the caretaker government as the country's two major political alliances had failed to reach a consensus on a candidate for the post.

Fakhruddin Joins Office

Newly appointed Chief Adviser to the Caretaker Government Dr Fakhruddin Ahmed joined office yesterday, a day after he took oath as the chief adviser. He was welcomed at his office by the senior officials of the office as he arrived there around 12:55pm. Principal Secretary to the CA Ali Imam Majumder, Secretary in-charge Kazi M Aminul Islam, Director General of Special Security Forces (SSF) Major Gen Syed Fatmy Ahmed Roomy and Military Secretary to the CA Brigadier Gen ANM Wazed Thakur received the chief adviser. The chief adviser later placed wreaths at the National Mausoleum in Savar. He stood there in solemn silence for some time to pay homage to the martyrs of the War of Liberation.

A smart contingent comprised of army, navy and air force presented guard of honour. Chiefs of three services and general officer commanding (GOC) of the Savar Cantonment received the chief adviser on the premises of the National Mausoleum on his arrival. Later, Dr Fakhruddin Ahmed signed in the visitor's book.